[Back to top]
San Mateo County Assessor-Clerk-Recorder-Elections
Shape the Future. Vote!

Official Election Site of San Mateo County

MARK CHURCH, Chief Elections Officer & Assessor-County Clerk-Recorder

選民的教育與外展計劃


摘要

加利福尼亞州選民選擇法案(VCA)要求本縣制定選民教育和宣傳計劃,向選民通報VCA的各個方面,包括投票中心和選票投放地點以及針對殘疾和非英語偏好選民的特定信息。公眾會議將與代表或為這些團體提供服務的社區組織和個人舉行。本縣將舉辦多個公共教育講習班,提供西班牙語、中文、菲律賓語、和韓文語言的翻譯人員。由本縣主辦的所有公共活動將是ADA無障礙。


本縣與其投票無障礙諮詢委員會(VAAC)和語言無障礙諮詢委員會(LAAC)共同製定了選民教育和外展計劃,並將提交給州書記辦公室進行審查和批准。


與2015年11月3日全郵寄選舉之前的社區外展和公眾意識工作類似,本縣將聯絡社區組織、機構、學校和其他組織以提高對新選舉模式的認識。將綜合使用直接郵件、新聞媒體、社交媒體以及公共訪問媒體的廣泛宣傳,並宣布VCA的實施。這項運動將推廣使用免費的選民援助熱線,通知選民如何以無障礙格式獲得選票,提供多語言服務,並為聽障人士提供無障礙服務。


即將舉行的社區活動和社區合作夥伴參見附錄 。


非英文偏好的選民

作為外展工作的一部分,本縣將繼續並擴大對選擇使用非英語語言的選民的外展。


向所有為聖馬刁縣居民服務的媒體公佈免費的選民援助熱線,提供多語言服務。此外,還將向西班牙文、中文、菲律賓文、和韓文語言的媒體購買廣告,以推廣援助熱線。


需要語言幫助的投票中心將通過美國人口普查數據和公眾輸入方式(包括由本縣LAAC提供的輸入)來識別。


媒體合作夥伴,包括非英語媒體都列在附錄中。


殘疾選民

該縣長期致力於與殘疾選民合作,增加民主進程的可及性。選舉註冊及投票部門的網站www.shapethefuture.org為殘疾選民提供信息和資源,包括eSlate殘疾人可及單位,郵寄系統的無障礙投票,投票中心和VAAC的ADA無障礙要求。


向所有為聖馬刁縣居民服務的媒體發布新聞稿,將公佈免費的選民援助熱線,為有聽力障礙的人士提供無障礙服務。


有殘疾的選民可以要求本縣把選票寄到他們的家中,或者有一台電子投票機送到他們的家中。殘疾選民也可以使用他們的個人電腦通過郵寄無障礙系統投票下載和標記他們的選票。投票中心的工作人員也可以帶一個票選票或eSlate殘疾人通行單位給停靠在路邊的汽車裡殘疾選民投票。


解決參與方面的差異

本縣將根據要求向低收入選民和殘疾人機構的協調員和工作人員提供信息和培訓,包括但不限於:CalFresh CalWORKs、Medi-Cal、婦女、嬰孩,及兒童(WIC)、家庭支持服務,覆蓋加利福尼亞州,加利福尼亞州健康福利交流中心,康復職業服務中心,獨立生活中心,發展服務區域中心部門,與聾人進入辦公室簽訂合同的辦公室,州和縣的精神和行為健康部門,以及與這些部門簽訂合約提供服務的私人營業者。


可以部署移動投票中心來處理固定場地不可行的地理偏遠地區。


選民直接聯繫

本縣向選民直接聯繫是向選民通報2015年11月3日全郵寄選舉的最有效方法。


除了樣本選票和官方選民信息手冊以及郵寄選票投票信息之外,還計劃通過郵寄三張明信片告知選民新的選舉模式。第一封郵件將通知所有已經註冊選民新的投票模式。第二封郵件將發給那些以前沒有收到選票的選民,提醒他們即將到來的選票,並提供投票中心信息。第三封郵件在選舉前的最後幾天將會是沒有郵寄投票的選民提醒他們這樣做,提供有關獲得替換選票和投票中心地點的信息。


公共服務的通知

將在電視上發放公共服務通告(PSA)腳本,為聾人或聽力障礙的選民提供視覺或隱藏字幕。收音機廣播劇本將請求,電台在他們的相關網站上發布信息以協助接觸或聯絡選民。


本縣將提供印刷品和在線PSA的圖稿,以及政府和社區合作夥伴在其社交媒體和通訊中使用的圖片。打印PSA廣告的同時,還會要求在任何附屬網站上公佈有關盲人和視障人士音頻的公告。


該縣將為服務在聖馬刁縣的西班牙語、中文、菲律賓文、和韓文語言之媒體提供PSA腳本。劇本將通知選民即將舉行的選舉,並推廣免費的選民援助熱線。及可用的圖稿。


預算

2018年6月5日的全州直接大選已經為選民教育和外展項目撥款241,000美元。此外,選民註冊及選舉部門亦會提供內部支援,協助編制圖文及外展資料,公眾介紹及社區外展活動。


預算將允許在報紙、電視、廣播和社交媒體上購買廣告。這些資金的一部分將分配給語言翻譯和盲文製作。外展預算不包括向註冊選民直接郵寄的印刷和郵資費用。為此,需要在2018年6月5日全州直接選舉預算中增加20萬美元的額外資金。


此外,加利福尼亞州選民選擇聯盟已經向社區組織提供資助,以爭取他們對VCA外展計劃的支持。有關加利福尼亞州選民選擇聯盟及其資助計劃的具體細節可以通過https://voterschoice.org/網頁獲得。


<< EAP–草案

附錄 >>



目錄


GO TO:

 

Voter Registration
Voting
Candidates & Campaigns
Elections
Poll Workers
Resources
Español
中文
Contact Us


youtube video twitter

CONTACT US:

 

Registration & Elections Division
40 Tower Road, San Mateo, CA 94402
Phone: (650) 312-5222
Fax: (650) 312-5348
Email: registrar@smcare.org

 

Assistance for Voters with Disabilities:

Dial 711 For Telecommunications Relay Service
Phone: 1 (888) 762-8683
Language Assistance
Phone: 1 (888) 762-8683 or 1 (888) SMC-VOTE

[Back to top]
San Mateo County Assessor-Clerk-Recorder-Elections
Shape the Future. Vote!

Official Election Site of San Mateo County

MARK CHURCH, Chief Elections Officer & Assessor-County Clerk-Recorder

Voter Education and Outreach Plan


OVERVIEW

The California Voter’s Choice Act (VCA) requires the County to develop a Voter Education and Outreach Plan that informs voters on all aspects of the VCA, including Vote Center and Ballot Drop-off locations, and information specific to voters with disabilities and non-English preference voters. Public meetings will be held with community organizations and individuals that advocate on behalf of, or provide services to these groups. The County will hold multiple public education workshops, with translators available for Spanish, Chinese, Filipino and Korean language speakers. All public events hosted by the County will be ADA accessible.


The County worked with its Voting Accessibility Advisory Committee (VAAC) and Language Accessibility Advisory Committee (LAAC) to develop the Voter Education and Outreach Plan, which will be submitted to the Secretary of State’s office for review and approval.


Similar to our community outreach and public awareness efforts in advance of the November 3, 2015 All-Mailed Ballot Election, the County will reach out to community organizations, agencies, schools and other groups to raise awareness of the new election model. This will be combined with a broad media campaign using direct mail, news media, social media, and public access media to announce the implementation of the VCA. The campaign will promote the toll-free voter assistance hotline, inform voters how to obtain their ballot in an accessible format, and provide multilingual services and accessibility to persons with hearing disabilities.


Upcoming community events and community partners can be found in the Addenda.


NON-ENGLISH PREFERENCE VOTERS

As part of its outreach efforts, the County will continue and expand its outreach to voters who prefer to use a language other than English.


A news release, distributed to all media serving San Mateo County residents, will announce the toll-free voter assistance hotline, which will provide multilingual services. Additionally, advertisements in Spanish, Chinese, Filipino and Korean media will be purchased to promote the assistance hotline.


Vote Centers which require language assistance will be identified through U.S. Census data and through the public input process, including input provided by the County’s LAAC.


Media partners, including non-English language media, are in the Addenda.


VOTERS WITH DISABILITIES

The County has a long-standing commitment to working with voters with disabilities to increase accessibility in the democratic process. The Registration & Elections Division website, www.shapethefuture.org, provides information and resources for voters with disabilities, including details on eSlate Disabled Access Units, the Accessible Vote by Mail System, the ADA Accessible requirements for Vote Centers and the VAAC.


A press release, distributed to all media serving San Mateo County residents, will announce the toll-free voter assistance hotline, which will provide accessibility to persons with hearing disabilities.


Voters with disabilities may request the County to deliver a ballot to their home, or have an electronic voting machine brought to their home. Voters with disabilities may also use their personal computer to download and mark their ballot through the Accessible Vote by Mail System. Vote Center staff may also bring a paper ballot replacement or the eSlate Disabled Access Unit to a car for curbside voting.


ADDRESSING DISPARITIES IN PARTICIPATION

The County will provide information and training on request to coordinators and staff at agencies serving low-income voters and individuals with disabilities from agencies including, but not limited to: CalFresh CalWORKs, Medi-Cal, Women, Infants, and Children (WIC), In-Home Supportive Services, Covered California, California’s health benefit exchange, Department of Rehabilitation-Vocational Services, Independent Living Centers, Department of Developmental Services Regional Centers, Offices contracting with the Office of Deaf Access, State and County mental and behavioral health departments, and private practitioners providing services under contract with those departments.


A mobile Vote Center may be deployed to address geographically remote areas where a fixed site is not feasible.


DIRECT VOTER CONTACTS

Direct contact from the County to voters was the most effective method to inform voters about the November 3, 2015 All-Mailed Ballot Election.


Three postcards are planned to inform voters of the new election model, in addition to information in the Sample Ballot & Official Voter Information Pamphlet and the Vote by Mail Ballot. The first mailing will inform all registered voters of the new voting model. The second mailing will be to voters who have not previously received their ballot by mail to alert them to the upcoming ballot mailing and provide Vote Center information. The third mailing, in the final days before the election, will be to voters who have not mailed in their ballot to remind them to do so, providing information on obtaining a replacement ballot and on Vote Center locations.


PUBLIC SERVICE ANNOUNCEMENTS

A Public Service Announcement (PSA) script for TV will be distributed with the request for visuals or closed-captioning for voters who are deaf or hard of hearing. A radio script will include a request to stations to post the information on their companion websites to assist in reaching those voters.


Artwork will be available from the County for print and online PSAs, and for government and community partners to use in their social media and newsletters. Print PSAs will be accompanied by a request to post the announcement on any affiliated websites with audio for the blind and visually impaired.


The County will provide Spanish, Chinese, Filipino and Korean language media outlets serving San Mateo County with scripts for PSAs. The scripts will inform voters of the upcoming election and promote the toll-free voter assistance hotline. Artwork will also be available.


BUDGET

The June 5, 2018 Statewide Direct Primary Election has been allocated $241,000 for voter education and outreach. Additionally, the Registration & Elections Division will provide in-house support for the preparation of graphic and outreach materials, public presentations and community outreach events.


The budget will allow the purchase of advertisements in newspapers, television, radio and social media. A portion of these funds will be allocated to language translation and braille production. The outreach budget does not include printing and postage costs for direct mailings to registered voters. Additional funds in the amount of $200,000 will need to be added to the June 5, 2018 Statewide Direct Primary Election budget for this purpose.


In addition, The Voter’s Choice California coalition has offered grants to community based organizations to enlist their support in VCA outreach programs. Information regarding the Voter’s Choice California coalition and their grant programs may be obtained at https://voterschoice.org/.


<< EAP–Draft

Addenda >>



Table of Contents


GO TO:

 

Voter Registration
Voting
Candidates & Campaigns
Elections
Poll Workers
Resources
Español
中文
Contact Us


youtube video twitter

CONTACT US:

 

Registration & Elections Division
40 Tower Road, San Mateo, CA 94402
Phone: (650) 312-5222
Fax: (650) 312-5348
Email: registrar@smcare.org

 

Assistance for Voters with Disabilities:

Dial 711 For Telecommunications Relay Service
Phone: 1 (888) 762-8683
Language Assistance
Phone: 1 (888) 762-8683 or 1 (888) SMC-VOTE